Arwel is fluent in the Welsh Language & was born in the village of Trefriw. He is a well-established Local Chef with 32yrs experience and a large local trade following. His cuisine has a Seafood & Portugese influence from his days at The Lord Newborough in Dolgarrog & the Jersey Channel Islands where he worked for many years.
Anna was also born in North Wales & moved to Cardiff with her family when she was 5yrs old. She returned to North Wales when she was 18yrs old to start her career in hospitality at the Tyn-y-Coed Hotel in Capel Curig. She has gained 28yrs experience in all areas of the hospitality business trade; sales & marketing, housekeeping, bar, restaurant and front of house welcome host. Arwel & Anna met through hospitality & married in Jersey in 2010, a place very special to our hearts.
We had a vision & a dream to have our own restaurant & found this very special gem in the beautiful village of Trefriw & so here we are…… To all who visit us we want to warmly welcome you to our piece of paradise & hope you enjoy.
Chandlers was a thriving restaurant in the village of Trefriw, up until 1999, when the current owners retired. Previously it was called The Welsh Kitchen & prior to that it was a post office. Trefriw is a picturesque village lying partly within the Snowdonia National Park, located approximately 1.5 miles North West of Llanrwst & approximately 5.5 miles from the inland tourist resort of Betws-y-Coed. Trefriw is renowned for its Woollen Mills and Roman Spa, it is also a favoured destination for walkers, climbers etc
Trefriw lies on the edge of Snowdonia, on the B5106 road to the north-west of Llanrwst, and about 4½ miles north of Betws-y-coed by road. It is located on the western slopes of the glaciated Conwy valley, below the ridge of Cefn Cyfarwydd, the village having been largely built in a semicircle at the point where the river Crafnant flows from its hanging valley to join the river Conwy. The river Crafnant still provides power for the woollen mill, and in the past provided power for a number of other industries based along its banks, such as a forge which provided quarry tools.
Food - our passion
Apart from its reputation as a good starting point for walks, Trefriw is today mostly known for its woollen mills, and for the nearby chalybeate spa, first known to have been used by the Romans and further developed in about 1700. Its waters were one of very few throughout Europe to have been classified as a medicine due to their high iron content.
At the start of the 19th century, boats of around 5 tons could only reach Trefriw quay at or near high tides. It is not known when the first quay was built, but a storehouse existed there in 1754. The quay, which belonged to the Gwydir Estate and was ruled by a resident harbourmaster, was later extended (the present structure dates from about 1811–12), and became of great significance to Trefriw, its growth, and subsequent history.
Subsequent rock blasting in the 19th century downstream at Tal-y-cafn, and dredging, enabled river boats of 50 tons and seagoing ships of 100 tons to reach Trefriw. The quays were sited opposite the Bellevue Hotel, now the Princes Arms Hotel, and remains can still be seen, best viewed from the walks on 'the Cob'.
Meet Our Owners
Arwel & Anna Williams
Chef / Front of house